Simon Crocker wins Bourn SCDC by-election

Simon Crocker had a handsome victory to hold the Bourn ward seat for the Conservatives in the South Cambridgeshire District Council by-election tonight.

He polled 579 votes – and 46.47% of the overall vote – with second place going to the Liberal Democrats, 247 votes, only just ahead of Labour on 235 votes.

The turnout was a shockingly low 15.29%.

The full result was:

     Gavin Clayton, Labour - 235 votes
     Simon Crocker, Conservative - 579 votes
     Helene Green, UKIP - 121 votes
     Marcus Pitcaithly, Green Party - 64 votes
     Jeni Sawford, Liberal Democrat - 247 votes

Simon's majority was 332.

The by-election was triggered after former councillor David Morgan (Conservative) stood down in July.

The number of SCDC seats held by each political party remains:
     Conservative: 38
     Liberal Democrats: 11
     Independent (group): 6
     Independent (non-group): 1
     Labour: 1

This is the first time Simon had stood in a SCDC election, although as chairman of Cambourne Parish Council, he was well known locally. “I am delighted with the result and wish to thank all those who voted," he said.

"I would also like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who gave up their free time to promote my campaign, sometimes in the face of less than pleasant weather.  I am conscious of the fact I have some election promises to keep, and work starts on those today.”

The ward comprises the villages of Bourn, Cambourne, Caxton, Croxton and Eltisley and is solidly Conservative: Mervyn Loynes and Des O'Brien, the other two District Councillors in the ward are both Conservative; Mervyn is also County Councillor for three of the five villages and Mandy Smith, County Councillor for the other two, is also Conservative.

"I am absolutely delighted Simon was successful and has joined our team at SCDC," said Heidi Allen, MP for South Cambridgeshire. "As a resident and parish council chairman, Simon lives and breaths Cambourne, so will be a first class representative. Between them, Simon, Des and Mervyn can truly represent the different needs of all the Bourn ward communities."

South Cambridgeshire District Council

          T  03450 450 500
          F  01954 713 149
          T  @SouthCambs

Your local District and County Councillors

          District Council  List of all councillors
          County Council  List of all councillors