Conservative gain on SCDC

The Conservatives increased their majority at South Cambridgeshire District Council in Thursday's elections – when 19 of the 57 seats were up for election – with our overall control increasing from 12 to 13 seats.

All eight sitting Conservative members were re-elected, we won back Bourn and we also retained the County seat of Willingham & Over in the by-election.

"What a result!" said Ray Manning, Leader of South Cambs District Council.

"I'm told we are now one of the safest Tory councils in the whole country.  It was disappointing not to win Linton and Caldecote, but a stunning romp home everywhere else.

"Much of our success is down to the hard work of the SCCA Campaign Team and the Hardwick office of our Agent Stephen Frost and his assistant Denise Smith.  Thank you to everyone involved – whatever your role, we could not have done it without you."

On behalf of the Campaign Committee, Colin Barker had this to say:

"Yet again, South Cambridgeshire has set the benchmark for others to aspire to.

"Hearty thanks to many people.  Peter Mann for designing, laying out and overseeing those wonderful election leaflets.  They knock the spots off anything the opposition can muster!

"Also all of those who helped with canvassing and leaflet delivery.  Many of you helped out all over the District, and that was wonderful.  We really do work as a team these days.

"Ben Shelton for overseeing the whole campaign as Deputy Chairman, Political, while at the same time fighting (and winning – with a 706 majority) his own Shelford & Stapleford seat.

"David Whiteman-Downes who co-ordinated things between the Conservative Group at SCDC and the Campaign Team – and the team itself who meet throughout the year, planning and overseeing campaigns and generally getting it right!

"I must just mention Peter Hudson and Matt Bradney.  Both of them worked extremely hard in the Willingham & Over County by-election and fought off a very determined UKIP challenge.

"And thanks, too, to the Conservative councillors of South Cambs, so well led by Ray Manning, who run the District so well, allowing us to show the electorate how fortunate they are to have a Conservative run council.

"Lastly, but not least, the wonderful team we have in the Hardwick office – Stephen Frost and Denise Smith.  We would all be lost without their constant ability to provide candidates with what they want – canvass cards, knock up slips, extra leaflets... the list goes on."

Following this election, the make up of SCDC is:
     Conservatives 35 seats (+1)
     Liberal Democrats  13 seats
     Independents   8 seats (-1)
     Labour  1 seat

The ward by ward results, with the winning margins, were (full details are on the SCDC website):

Balsham – Andrew Fraser (sitting member).  RE-ELECTED – 452.

Bar Hill – Bunty Waters (sitting member).  RE-ELECTED – 334.

Bassingbourn – David McCraith (sitting member).  RE-ELECTED – 158.

Bourn – David Morgan.  ELECTED – 150.

Caldecote – Stephen Frost.  NOT ELECTED.

Cottenham – Lynda Harford (sitting member).  RE-ELECTED – 562.

Gamlingay – Adrian Dent.  NOT ELECTED.

Girton – Tom Bygott (sitting member).  RE-ELECTED – 497.

Histon & Impington – Steven Mastin.  NOT ELECTED.

Linton – Keiran Wakley.  NOT ELECTED.

Melbourn - Joshua Vanneck.  NOT ELECTED.

Meldreth – Julian Leigh.  NOT ELECTED.

Queen Edith's – Vince Marino (Cambridge City).  NOT ELECTED.

Sawston – Raymond Matthews.  RE-ELECTED – 319.

Swavesey – Sue Ellington (sitting member).  RE-ELECTED – 319.

The Shelfords & Stapleford – Ben Shelton (sitting member).  RE-ELECTED – 706.

Waterbeach – Sarah Smart.  NOT ELECTED.

Willingham & Over – Pippa Corney / SCDC (sitting member).  RE-ELECTED – 399.

Willingham & Over – Peter Hudson / County Council by-election.  ELECTED – 610.

South Cambridgeshire District Council

       03450 450 500.
       F 01954 713 149.
       Election results  website.

Your local District and County Councillors

       District Council List of all councillors.
       County Council List of all councillors.